IPB

Welcome Guest


 
Start new topic
> Suddenly unable to open picture with Nero 8
lyd13
post Feb 16 2011, 04:13 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 16-February 11
Member No.: 8,898,258



Yesterday I was able to open my pictures with Nero 8.

But today I simply couldn't do it. There's a message error that say that PhotoSnap cannot open the pictures. I desinstalled and reinstalled Nero with the same result. I tried to change the defaut program to open the pictures, but when I try to open one, is photosnap that pop up. I cannot understand what's happened. Now,to open a picture I'm forced todo a right click. Can anyone help me? :(

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Feb 16 2011, 06:19 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



At what point in the Open option do you get the message? For instance, when I press Open, the browser pops up. Then I can go to a specific folder and then select a picture. Where in the process do you get the error message and is what you said the complete message?

Did you get any updates to anti-virus or Windows since yesterday?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lyd13
post Feb 17 2011, 06:12 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 16-February 11
Member No.: 8,898,258



Now I can open the picures with window. But for the ones in bmp format I have to open them with other programs. Anti-virus updates are fine and the rest of the software work fine. the only problem is photosnap. Even when i try to open picures manually below right it says "pcd format", but when I swtich it to "all files" I can see the images. But i'm simply unable to open them Before Ijus double click on a picture and I was able to retouched it, crop it or resized at the same time. :(
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Feb 18 2011, 04:19 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



Instead of double clicking on a picture, try just selecting one and the clicking on OK. Does that work?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lyd13
post Feb 21 2011, 11:22 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 16-February 11
Member No.: 8,898,258



doesn't work either... as for the rest of the software, it work fine. :(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Feb 22 2011, 04:24 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



What operating system are you using?

If you open Control Panel, default programs, set default programs, find Photosnap. Select "Set this program as default". Does that help?

If not, try disabling your anti-virus program and it's security features.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaisyDuckGAF
post Feb 25 2011, 02:16 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Nero Support Employee
Posts: 251
Joined: 16-April 10
Member No.: 8,751,402



Hi lyd13, hi wither,

Please check if all required files are present (these are the necessary DLL files for the functionalities in PhotoSnap):

The following plugin files must be found in the PhotoSnap Directory:

"BasicFilters.dll", "FImgPlg.dll", "PhotoEffects.dll" and "XImgPlg.dll".

After a standard installation of Nero 8, you will find the PhotoSnap directory under the following path:
"C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero 8\Nero PhotoSnap"
The exact path may vary depending upon the settings when installing Nero 8.

If all of these files are present please try to register the plugins again:
The first step is to launch Nero PhotoSnap. In PhotoSnap please select "Options" (Hammer icon). Then please click on "Plugins....". Now select "unregister all" and confirm with "yes". Then please close both dialog windows. Now select Options again and select "register plugin".
Now choose the plugin files mentioned above. And open each of these files separately.
If the plugins are not displayed, you will find them in the PhotoSnap directory.
Now close and reopen PhotoSnap. The problem should now be solved.

If that didn't help you'll need to reinstall Nero 8 using our Nero Cleantool.

Keeping my fingers crossed!


Best regards

Daisy

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed Topic