IPB

Welcome Guest


2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Start new topic
> Gibberish External srt subtitles
drgkt
post Dec 10 2010, 02:36 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



Can I have Regional settings USA and still have external greek subtitles in srt format NOT appearing gibberish?

For example, VLC does not have this problem.

This post has been edited by drgkt: Dec 10 2010, 02:38 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Infohelp
post Dec 10 2010, 01:26 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Nero Support Employee
Posts: 4,185
Joined: 22-June 09
Member No.: 8,466,818



Hi drgkt,

What we can offer you is to test this *srt file. Could you please contact TechSupport and send us the *srt file?

With the file itselft we can try to reproduce the problem here.

On the other hand, do you mean that no subtitle appears at all, or that subtitle appear, but are displayed wrong?

Thank you and best regards,

Infohelp





Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 10 2010, 02:04 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



Subs appear but displayed wrong: ???$#&^!!! etc.

If I change my locale to Greece then they appear correctly; however, I 'd rather not do that because other things change as well.

Here is the srt file compressed.

[I cannot upload the file! Something wrong over there? I will try again later.]

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 10 2010, 02:48 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



I still cannot upload the file. It is in rar format and I cannot find where the upload rules are.

Just go here http://subs4free.com/ download any subtitle and try.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Dec 10 2010, 04:59 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



Infohelp is probably gone for the weekend. More than likely, you need to zip the file in order to upload it.

I downloaded from the website and the file was in .zip format. When I unzipped it, the file came through as an .srt. As a result, I can't play it in ShowTime.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 10 2010, 06:15 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



I am not sure whether you are confirming the problem or you are just saying that you cannot play the SRT. Of course you need the accompanying AVI to play.

This post has been edited by drgkt: Dec 10 2010, 06:17 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Dec 10 2010, 06:50 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



I don't know how to get the .avi file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 10 2010, 08:41 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



Ok. We need to start from the beginning.

First, tell me if you open the attached srt in notepad whether you see the same as the attached jpg.

If you see gibberish in Notepad, you need to add the Language. See the other 2 jpg.

From that point on, get any .AVI and ANY greek .SRT. (the subs may not match what they are saying, but that is besides the point). All we are looking is if the subs appear gibberish or correctly like in the attached jpg. Make sure they have the same name (for example xyz.avi and xyz.srt) and that they are in the same directory.

Now just play the avi with showtime (you may have to go into settings and set to display the subs in Greek).


Attached File(s)
Attached File  RefFiles.zip ( 246.75K ) Number of downloads: 527
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Dec 11 2010, 03:33 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



Thanks. Yes the SRT looks like yours in NotePad. I can't find Text Services in Vista.

All I wanted to do is just to see what you're looking at. I can add the srt to a video in Recode but I can't see what it looks like in Preview and didn't bother recoding to Nero Digital.

Rather than waste your time with something I know little about, I would just follow the advice of Infohelp.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 11 2010, 04:46 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



QUOTE (wither @ Dec 11 2010, 03:33 AM) *
I can't find Text Services in Vista.


You do not need it if the srt displays correctly in notepad.

QUOTE (wither @ Dec 11 2010, 03:33 AM) *
I can add the srt to a video in Recode but I can't see what it looks like in Preview and didn't bother recoding to Nero Digital.

You do not need any of that. All you do is open the avi with showtime and observe the subs.

See attached.


Attached File(s)
Attached File  RefFiles2.zip ( 60.15K ) Number of downloads: 448
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Dec 11 2010, 05:12 PM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



Remember, you're the expert on this one and I'm on training wheels. It's how I learn things about Nero.

I can bring an avi into showtime but how do you get the .srt in? I mean, you have to somehow put the two together since ShowTime won't open a .srt file by itself.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 11 2010, 11:08 PM
Post #12


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



All you have to do is right click the avi and choose play with Showtime.

If you have an .srt with the same name as the .avi in the same folder, Showtime will find it and will display the subs at the times that the .srt dictates.

See settings in attached.


Attached File(s)
Attached File  RefFIles3.zip ( 65.94K ) Number of downloads: 392
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Dec 12 2010, 03:16 AM
Post #13


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



I'll have to try it in the morning. Since I couldn't download the avi at the website you provided the link for, I'll rename the srt to the name of the avi I use. Thanks for the instructions. I'm learning new things.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 12 2010, 08:19 AM
Post #14


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



Why can't I PM you?

This post has been edited by drgkt: Dec 12 2010, 08:22 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Dec 12 2010, 05:31 PM
Post #15


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



With all the acrononyms flying around, what does PM mean?

I played an avi with one of the downloaded subtitles in VLC and ShowTime. The downloaded subtitle looks the same in either player, even if I pick greek in ShowTime. I don't know how to adjust the language in VLC.

I've attached a snippet while playing it in showtime.

This post has been edited by wither: Dec 12 2010, 06:30 PM
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 12 2010, 09:51 PM
Post #16


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



PM = Personal or Private Message.

Ok. That is what I mean gibberish. Does it look like that in notepad?

See VLC settings in attached.


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Dec 12 2010, 10:07 PM
Post #17


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



Looks like that in Notepad and in VLC, even after changing to Greek. You have to realize that I don't read Greek so I probably wouldn't know when it is correct.

I've attached just a snippet from the VLC and this looks more like a coherent sentence than most of it-

This post has been edited by wither: Dec 12 2010, 10:17 PM
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 12 2010, 10:17 PM
Post #18


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



If you post the srt, I will post back how it is supposed to look. (A few lines at start.)

Since it looks gibberish in Notepad too, you need to add the language. If you had XP I could guide you but with Vista...

Try Google.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Dec 12 2010, 10:18 PM
Post #19


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



You were too quick. I was having a problem uploading the file. See revised post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drgkt
post Dec 12 2010, 10:25 PM
Post #20


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 10
Member No.: 8,853,324



Yes! That is correct!

Now the task is to have Showtime display like that.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Closed Topic