IPB

Welcome Guest


 
Start new topic
> Upgrade from Suite 10 to Nero HD Platinum PROBLEMS!
Wilzer
post Nov 20 2010, 04:18 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 14-April 10
Member No.: 8,753,612



Was enticed by the update to the HD version. Had the Nero Suite 10 working but it wouldn't load certain audio files from JVC equipment, but everything else in the Vision xtra seemed OK. Then, it wouldn't take the license # that I was emailed and after many unstalls & re-installs finally found a chat tech that got me a new license #. Now I have an install, but when I try to enter Vision xtra it may start partially or not at all and have been able to get as far importing a file but then it crashes. Good news is from the little it functions, it will import the audio, just wish it would work fully.

Now, I have replaced just about every file in my OS, did the Windows Install disk repair, uninstalled and re-installed SP3 and my system is running great with all the re installs but Vision 10 Xtra just won't work.

Found out some interesting things while searching for a solution, the biggest is the funny problem I was having with the Microsoft.net framework trying to continually update, it was caused by my previous update to Nero 10 from Nero 9, Ugh! Nero, you are a bad boy. :angry:

After, about 5 or 6 support tickets and chat followups, still haven't resolved the issues. It's been about a month. They suggested finally it was the ntdll.dll file but that's not right since I have reinstalled the OS and SP3 IT"S NOT THE NTDLL.DLL file

Now this last chat, the operator says his colleagues are working on the issue, I asked were their names Curly, Larry and Moe. The operator says he doesn't know those names, I asked where he was located and he (I'm guessing it was a he) refused to say, obviously, not from the US. :lol: I'm thinking not from Germany either, Bangalore?

So, maybe when Bevis and Butthead and Curly, Larry and Moe review the cabinet file once again, they will suggest the same ole same ole. What'cha think? :rolleyes:

Windows XP 32 bit Home, Asus M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 MB + AMD 3.2 six core CPU

This post has been edited by Wilzer: Nov 20 2010, 04:31 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Nov 20 2010, 05:41 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



The German chat and tech support handles second level installation problems. The US chat is supposed to handle simple (first level) installation problems but once you get into details, they ask you to e-mail tech support (which of course is in Germany).

This problem sounds like the same thing other people have gotten with Vision and is documented well in the forum. You might try looking at some of those threads. I don't know what tech support has asked you to do previously. There is a fix for XP pinned to the Installation subforum.

One thing a person who has Vista or Win 7 can do is run the .exe file as the administrator by right clicking on the file and selecting Run as Administrator. That has worked for numerous people. The problem is, I don't know how to do that in XP and AndDa in another thread was going to look into that but never came back to tell us how it's done in XP. I know it's in another thread but don't know which one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wilzer
post Nov 20 2010, 07:31 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 14-April 10
Member No.: 8,753,612



QUOTE (wither @ Nov 20 2010, 05:41 PM) *
The German chat and tech support handles second level installation problems. The US chat is supposed to handle simple (first level) installation problems but once you get into details, they ask you to e-mail tech support (which of course is in Germany). Yes but this is what you get back from the mail daemon "I was not able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
<techsupport@nero.com>:
62.93.193.102 failed after I sent the message" This is after I attached the cabinet file

This problem sounds like the same thing other people have gotten with Vision and is documented well in the forum. You might try looking at some of those threads. I don't know what tech support has asked you to do previously. There is a fix for XP pinned to the Installation subforum. There are a lot of "fixes" posted including that one but they don't work

One thing a person who has Vista or Win 7 can do is run the .exe file as the administrator by right clicking on the file and selecting Run as Administrator. That has worked for numerous people. The problem is, I don't know how to do that in XP and AndDa in another thread was going to look into that but never came back to tell us how it's done in XP. I know it's in another thread but don't know which one. I think as best as I can remember, that was for the install not the program.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Nov 20 2010, 08:52 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



You'll just have to keep trying the e-mail. I don't know what the issue is. Perhaps they're doing maintenance.

The Run as Administrator was for the problem that Vision wouldn't (couldn't) run.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wilzer
post Nov 22 2010, 03:21 AM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 14-April 10
Member No.: 8,753,612



Am surprised you don't know how to bypass this problem with email FYI, fill out contact form giving Nero ID # and then attach (upload) the cabinet (Cab) file to the form and send
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Nov 22 2010, 03:58 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



?? You wrote that the e-mail couldn't be delivered. I either send e-mail directly to tech support or use the form. Either one works.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Infohelp
post Nov 22 2010, 04:09 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Nero Support Employee
Posts: 4,185
Joined: 22-June 09
Member No.: 8,466,818



Hi Wilzer,

We are sorry for the problem that you are experiencing. We checked your NeroSupport.cab file in detail and found out what is causing the problem.

You use a Windows XP Home Edition system on a 6 core CPU processor. Please note that Windows XP supports a maximum of 4 CPUs. Using a 6 core CPU on a system that doesn´t support them, can lead to this kind of crashes. This is why the Windows files are crashing on your system.

To use 6 CPUs you should upgrade to Vista or Windows 7. You can also try to disable 2 cores, but I imagine that this is not what you want to do.

Best regards,

Infohelp
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wilzer
post Nov 23 2010, 01:29 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 14-April 10
Member No.: 8,753,612



QUOTE (Infohelp @ Nov 22 2010, 04:09 PM) *
Hi Wilzer,

We are sorry for the problem that you are experiencing. We checked your NeroSupport.cab file in detail and found out what is causing the problem.

You use a Windows XP Home Edition system on a 6 core CPU processor. Please note that Windows XP supports a maximum of 4 CPUs. Using a 6 core CPU on a system that doesn´t support them, can lead to this kind of crashes. This is why the Windows files are crashing on your system.

To use 6 CPUs you should upgrade to Vista or Windows 7. You can also try to disable 2 cores, but I imagine that this is not what you want to do.

Best regards,

Infohelp


Again, you are grasping at straws. I believe Service Pack 3 fixed that problem with windows XP and my system finds all six cores and runs very well, or ran very well before I installed Nero HD 10 upgrade. I unstalled, again and it runs extremely well and before un-installing, deactivated 2 cores and Nero Vision would run partially but Adobe Premier Elements was very noticeably slower.

How about looking at the graphic drivers and related items since when Nero Vision xtra would run somewhat, it would not display the video, only the audio.

So XP Home with an AMD 3.2Gh six core runs Adobe Premier Elements extremely well but not Nero HD 10.

The problem is in the Nero software running six cores on XP not Windows XP.

I have installed Nero 10 on another 9 year old computer with a pentium 4 and it runs good so I am not about to attempt an upgrade again or waste many hours again with Nero on my six core. I also have my MacBook Pro and iMovie but iDVD wouldn't burn HD DVD but now bought Roxio Toast and it does great.

I still have my Nero 9 for disk stuff.

Now, can you tell me why my computers stopped recognizing card readers after installing Nero 10. Happened on the previous install on the 6 core and again when I installed on the Pentium, after I installed Nero 10.

Lastly, why couldn't you have told me a long time and many service tickets ago that XP and 6core was the problem instead of sending me down the path of reinstalling OS etc and wasting my time with your laziness. I sent cab files in a long time ago but now you have really looked at it, maybe not since it appears that you have gone down the path of least resistance again. This is not the German work ethic I am familiar with and highly respect. I expect better.

Google search Curly Larry Moe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Infohelp
post Nov 24 2010, 08:32 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Nero Support Employee
Posts: 4,185
Joined: 22-June 09
Member No.: 8,466,818



Hi Wilzer,

I really understand your dissatisfaction, and we are very sorry for the problems that you are experiencing. Please note that not many customers have a Windows XP system running on a 6 cores CPU processor. Your computer might work correctly, and you might get Nero installed, but the 6 cores are not officially supported by Windows XP, so we cannot guarantee that Nero will work a hundred percent under certain conditions. The reason why we didn´t tell you this before, is because we couldn´t reproduce this kind of problems until now. As I said before, only a couple of customers reported such a problem with 6 cores. Only then we could reproduce the problem. We cannot help you solve the problem that you describe of Nero Vision crashing, but we can try help you solve the problem with Nero not displaying video, only audio. To do that we will need one of your video files to test it here. As far as I know, your graphic card is up to date, and we would need one of the files presetting this problem to try to reproduce it. I will kindly ask you to send us a test file per e-mail. I hope that you understand that there is not much more that we can do to help in the forum. Crashes and problems with video files, after a certain point need to be handled per e-mail, as all the files need to be forwarded to the specialist in the area. Please send us one of the files per e-mail so we can test it on our systems.

Best regards,

Infohelp

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MrMusic
post Nov 28 2010, 06:46 AM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 17-July 10
From: Wallan
Member No.: 7,346,395



I have the same problem.

Have the HD reg no with link to download. There are no downloads available. I have followed instructions and getting nowhere.

There is an update available on the update option in Control Centre, for Nero 10, but nothing is downloading. The only option is to close the window.

The Cancel download doesn't even respond.

Couldn't Nero just give an option to download the actual upgrade file, rather than telling us what to, and getting nowhere

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Nov 28 2010, 04:55 PM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



If you already have V10 and it's fully up to date, just insert your Premium serial number in the Control Center. Then run the Check for Updates.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Infohelp
post Nov 30 2010, 11:32 AM
Post #12


Advanced Member
***

Group: Nero Support Employee
Posts: 4,185
Joined: 22-June 09
Member No.: 8,466,818



Hi MrMusic,

We do offer a complete version that includes the HD Platinum updates. Please contact TechSupport via chat to get this download file.

Best regards,

Infohelp

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wilzer
post Jan 12 2011, 05:17 PM
Post #13


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 14-April 10
Member No.: 8,753,612



QUOTE (Wilzer @ Nov 23 2010, 01:29 PM) *
Again, you are grasping at straws. I believe Service Pack 3 fixed that problem with windows XP and my system finds all six cores and runs very well, or ran very well before I installed Nero HD 10 upgrade. I unstalled, again and it runs extremely well and before un-installing, deactivated 2 cores and Nero Vision would run partially but Adobe Premier Elements was very noticeably slower.

How about looking at the graphic drivers and related items since when Nero Vision xtra would run somewhat, it would not display the video, only the audio.

So XP Home with an AMD 3.2Gh six core runs Adobe Premier Elements extremely well but not Nero HD 10.

I have installed Nero 10 on another 9 year old computer with a pentium 4 and it runs good so I am not about to attempt an upgrade again or waste many hours again with Nero on my six core. I also have my MacBook Pro and iMovie but iDVD wouldn't burn HD DVD but now bought Roxio Toast and it does great.

I still have my Nero 9 for disk stuff.

Now, can you tell me why my computers stopped recognizing card readers after installing Nero 10. Happened on the previous install on the 6 core and again when I installed on the Pentium, after I installed Nero 10.

Lastly, why couldn't you have told me a long time and many service tickets ago that XP and 6core was the problem instead of sending me down the path of reinstalling OS etc and wasting my time with your laziness. I sent cab files in a long time ago but now you have really looked at it, maybe not since it appears that you have gone down the path of least resistance again. This is not the German work ethic I am familiar with and highly respect. I expect better.

Google search Curly Larry Moe


OK Curly, could you inform Larry and Moe that there is a fix and it is not anything you so called experts have suggested. It is a HotFix dated May 2008.

There is a Windows Hotfix for multi-core processors (more than 4 cores) running XP Hot fix for multi cores on XP that has been known for sometime, dated May 2008; or if you want more control, there is a utility that will set the number of CPUs Set CPU Affinity Utility but it has to be active You have to be quick to click on the Nero Vision shortcut and then set the CPUs to 0 and as many other CPUs as will function with Nero - Mine (Nero 10 HD Plat) ran great on 4 CPUs. You save it to the Utility's favorites folder and if the utility is active, the next time you run NeroVision it will remember the CPU configuration. Uncheck the highest numbers and be sure to always have 0 as active but the hot fix solved all the problems without having to resort to this. (although, I did it in reverse since I found the utility first) You can experiment with the quick click by opening task manager to processes and when NeroVision.exe appears, and setting the affinity to a lower # of CPU - unchecking the boxes. You can also set the priority for CPU access here in Task Manager. But the Hot Fix is the easiest and completely transparent.

This "Fix" works for Nero Vision (Both Vision 9 and 10 and 10HD) running on multicore processors, in my case an AMB six core 3.2GH. You may have similar issues for XP running on a quad core but haven't tried that. Note: Windows 7 fixed the multicore processor problem

Now, with the 6 CPU Processor, Nero Vision Xtra runs really slick.

If this works for you, please respond and include a "Thank You Dr. Webster" in the message.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed Topic