IPB

Welcome Guest


 
Start new topic
> Nero MediaHome 4 and Windows 7
wither
post Apr 16 2010, 08:19 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



In a thread with the same name which has been closed, it was stated that Nero MediaHome 4 is not compatible with Win 7. That is true.

However, if a person has Win 7 Pro, Ultimate, or Enterprise, he or she could download and install Virtual Xp from the Microsoft website and NMH 4 should run from there.

Just a clarification.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mondenath
post Apr 17 2010, 02:33 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 14-April 10
From: chennai
Member No.: 7,227,176



i had been using nero media home 4 for 5 months it works flawlessly

what do you mean by not compatible

post some error pics
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Apr 17 2010, 02:47 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



This is Nero's official reply-

http://forum.my.nero.com/index.php?showtopic=5933.

Note that when it is stated that a Nero app is not compatible with a particular operating system, it doesn't mean all parts of it won't work. It just depends on what you do with it. Win 7 compatibility issues with Nero apps comes up occasionally in the forum.

I don't have Win 7.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w3wilkes
post May 29 2010, 06:38 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 22-November 08
Member No.: 7,193,022



I guess I don't understand why the thread says that Nero MediaHome 4 does not support Windows 7?? If you look in MediaHome 4 system requirements it clearly lists Windows 7 from Home Premium up through Ultimate, both 32 and 64 bit. This is looking at the current 4.5.8.0 version that was posted on March 31, 2010. The only disclaimer is that it states that the MediaHome application is a 32 bit application. There is nothing stated about any portion of MediaHome 4 that will not work in Windows 7. Is this a case of the developer not keeping technical support updated on product capabilities or is this a case of false advertising on the part of Nero marketing? See attached snip from MediaHome sytem requirements tab.
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post May 29 2010, 09:07 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



Very interesting. The link that Infohelp (Nero Employee) provided has the same information as you posted above.

The word "support" might mean that tech support will not try to resolve problems if you have it installed on Win 7. That's what it means to most software vendors.

This post has been edited by wither: May 29 2010, 09:10 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w3wilkes
post May 30 2010, 12:04 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 22-November 08
Member No.: 7,193,022



Hmmmm. I've yet to see a vendor list a OS in system requirements where it meant "but we don't support the product on that OS".

Infohelp's reply clearly states that the link provided gives a list of supported OS's and Windows 7 IS listed in that link.

If Nero doesn't support MediaHome on Windows 7, Windows 7 should be completely removed from the system requirements tab for supported OS's. As it is now being listed in system requirements it is assumed by anyone purchasing the product that Windows 7 IS a supported OS. If Nero does not support MediaHome on Windows 7 I would think that stating Windows 7 in system requirements would be constituted as false advertising by Nero for supported OS's.



This post has been edited by w3wilkes: May 30 2010, 12:10 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post May 30 2010, 01:30 AM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



I was agreeing with you about Win 7 compatibility in my comment about the link that Infohelp posted. Infohelp should be in here on Monday and may be able to shed additional light on this. It certainly needs clarification.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Jun 1 2010, 04:23 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



I talked to tech support today about this issue. The reason it was originally stated in the other thread that NMH 4 wasn't compatible with Win 7, is that it hadn't been fully tested. According to tech support, it has been fully tested and is now considered compatible with Win 7.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w3wilkes
post Jun 1 2010, 08:56 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 22-November 08
Member No.: 7,193,022



Thanks for getting this cleared up that MediaHome is supported on Windows7. I thought it was odd that all posts in both this thread and the closed thread by the same name were dated at least 2 weeks after the current 4.5.8.0 update was posted on March 31, 2010 which states Windows 7 as a supported OS. I also see that the closed thread has been updated to show that Windows 7 IS a supported OS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Jun 2 2010, 12:54 AM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



The other thread was reopened at my request because the original information would be misleading if someone only looked at that thread instead of this one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed Topic