Welcome Guest

Start new topic
> I really need help
cadnaz
post Jun 2 2009, 01:19 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 8,461,124

I'm a complete noob who has been unable to burn a DVD Video yet. I bought an external HP writer with the bundled Nero software and learned that I needed to upgrade to te full version (9), which I've done.

I produced and published an FLV file that I'm trying to burn, and was told that I'd need to covert it an MP4 to play on a TV (I converted it so I have both an FLV and MP4 of the program). In StartSmart, I select Rip and Burn -> Burn Video Disc, but can't my files. It's looking for an .bup, .vob, or .ifo and says that to make a DVD-video, I must use and DVD Authorig tool such as Nero Vision.

In Nero Vision, I select Make DVD -> DVD Video -> Import -> Import Files. It sees the FLV but not the MP4. I can play and see the FLV in Nero Vision. I select Export and tried Nero Digital -> Nero Digitial Standard, thinking that maybe that will convert the file to the Nero structure that it was looking for in StartSmart (Express I believe). But it exports it as an MP4, which Express can't see.

I've tried many, many other things that looked promising, but always ends up with a failure. I'm really lost and hope that you can give me some simple step-by-steps to burn my FLV onto a DVD. By the way, I produced the video in an 800x600 format, and haven't seen that as an option in any of my many failed attempts.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Dr.Nero
post Jun 5 2009, 02:41 PM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Member No.: 8,163,371

Hi cadnaz,

to play your videos on your external dvd player you have to burn a Video-DVD. A video DVD you can burn with both, Nero Exress (I see this is what you have been trying) and with Nero Vision. There is no need for you to convert the flv file to mp4.