> How to burn MKV files
tomlini
post Nov 28 2012, 10:54 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 10,314,136

Hi All,

New to this forum, thanks for reading.

I am new to burning and I'm stuck with burning an MKV file to DVD for playing on standalone dvd/bluray players. I've searched the internet and this site but cannot find any step-wise instructions.

I have nero 12 platinum which is a big app and i'm lost. When searching, some people advise that you should be able to burn straight to a data dvd (no idea what this means). Others say it must be converted and go into technical reasons regarding frame rates etc.

Can someone tell me step by step how to do this with the version of nero I have? The mkv will fit on a single layer dvd.

Any help appreciated - I hope I have provided all required info.

Thanks - tomlini
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
jens-f
post Nov 28 2012, 10:59 AM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Group: Moderators
Member No.: 8,784,165

This depends on the capabilities of your dvd/bd-player.

Many dvd/bd-player are capable of direct playback of mkv files - in this case, you can burn it to a data disc. (Just start e.g. burning rom)

If your player does not support this, start nero video -> create -> DVD -> DVD-Video
But: Then it might not longer fit on a single layer dvd, as it must be converted to mpeg-2.

+Quote Post
tomlini
post Nov 28 2012, 01:30 PM
Post #3

QUOTE (jens-f @ Nov 28 2012, 10:59 AM) *
This depends on the capabilities of your dvd/bd-player.

Many dvd/bd-player are capable of direct playback of mkv files - in this case, you can burn it to a data disc. (Just start e.g. burning rom)

If your player does not support this, start nero video -> create -> DVD -> DVD-Video
But: Then it might not longer fit on a single layer dvd, as it must be converted to mpeg-2.

Thanks for the prompt response and it has almost worked:-)