IPB

Welcome Guest


 
Start new topic
> Problems installing 12
luisduo
post Nov 22 2012, 08:57 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-November 12
Member No.: 10,306,902



I'm having problems re-installing Nero Platinum 11 or installing the 12 trial. Each time I make an attempt, I get the message Installshield Wizard Failed on both versions. I am pulling my hair out. 11 was working but couldn't update so I uninstalled using Revo uninstaller, but now nothing works.



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bfflsports
post Nov 22 2012, 09:51 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 4-November 12
Member No.: 10,280,587



I had the same problem and after a TON of suggestions I had to restore my hardrive to fix the problem.



I hope your not waiting for Tecsupport........ I don't think anyone really works there.



Best of luck!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Nov 23 2012, 04:19 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



I had this situation a long time ago and can't remember what I did to fix it but I didn't have to reinstall the OS.

The fix is different for each system. As a result, I recommend that he send an e-mail to tech support. If he does, I hope he reports the fix just as you did for your system.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
retofploughman
post Nov 23 2012, 10:56 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 435
Joined: 10-November 12
Member No.: 10,289,700



luisduo

You have not stated the reason for using a 3rd party removal routine. Obviously there must be one.

But I, and I believe many other USERS, have utilise the OS facility of ADD/REMOVE Applications without problems with re-installations.

Admittedly I have found that not all the files and folders are completely removed when using this facility. I put this down to the fact that some folders are used by other Nero routines, so when the facility ADD/REMOVE is used it relies on information that is applicable to the routine being removed.

For example when a Nero suite is initially installed folders are generated with a DATE and Time stamp, subsequently an update/upgrade occurs which involves the contents these folders to be modified. Thus when removing the suite the ADD/REMOVE facility only removes those folder relevant to the latest date leaving folders from the original date. (this appears to be my observation)

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hg-dude
post Nov 23 2012, 02:48 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 2,419
Joined: 2-July 08
Member No.: 7,905,902



QUOTE (bfflsports @ Nov 22 2012, 09:51 PM) *
I had the same problem and after a TON of suggestions I had to restore my hardrive to fix the problem.

I hope your not waiting for Tecsupport........ I don't think anyone really works there.

Best of luck!


luisduo, This is the only solution of your problem if your system has been contaminated by parallel installations of Nero versions. All other attempt, as noticed here, are just wasting time.

Also, you have to think about whether you really need Nero 12. Apart from a Blu-ray player it brings not much new.

I have definitely made my lessons from this disaster, and created my specific Nero environment with Nero 10 as a base. This is running since April, 2011 without any problems (see my blog)




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
luisduo
post Nov 23 2012, 03:56 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-November 12
Member No.: 10,306,902



I used the Revo Uninstaller because Nero itself wouldn't uninstall any other way. I'm hoping I can resolve the issue without having to completely restore my OS





Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Nov 23 2012, 04:38 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



Nothing wrong with using Revo although it still won't remove everything Nero from your registry or your hard drive.

What happened when you used the Windows installer to remove Nero via the control panel?



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
luisduo
post Nov 24 2012, 08:26 AM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-November 12
Member No.: 10,306,902



To be honest, didn't try it with windows. I'm really hoping that I won't have to do a complete restore.

This post has been edited by luisduo: Nov 24 2012, 08:27 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Nov 24 2012, 04:15 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



Did you disable your anti-virus and all its security features before trying the installs?

In addition, the Windows Firewall has to be active to install Kwik Media.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
luisduo
post Nov 24 2012, 06:01 PM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-November 12
Member No.: 10,306,902



Yes, tried all the tricks here on the forums and still no luck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
retofploughman
post Nov 24 2012, 08:41 PM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 435
Joined: 10-November 12
Member No.: 10,289,700



luisduo

I have not seen any comment about checking the ADD/REMOVE facility of the OS.

I appreciate that wither is quiet happy with the REVO program. I also accept what hg-dude has said about side by side installation, although it does not seem to have effected my Laptop/PC operation.

Scanning through the posts I do not believe that you have tried the latter. But considering the info on http://www.nero.com/enu/blog/index.php I suppose it may appear that you have had the latter

I know it is not advisable to tamper with the REGISTRY but I suppose you try to DELETE any Nero serial number from it

The following is some info that was on the Nero web-site at sometime

***********************************

Retrieve your serial number manually
1.Click on "Start Run" and type "REGEDIT" in the field "Open"
2.Click on "OK" to open the Registration Editor.
3.Open the file.

For Nero 12 and Nero 11:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
( WOW6432NODE on 64 bit OS)
NERO
SHARED
NL11

For Nero Multimedia Suite 10:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
( WOW6432NODE on 64 bit OS)
NERO
SHARED
NL10

For Nero 9:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
( WOW6432NODE on 64 bit OS)
NERO
SHARED
NL9

For Nero 8:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
NERO
INSTALLATION
FAMILIES
NERO 8
INFO

For Nero 7:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
AHEAD
INSTALLATION
FAMILIES
NERO 7
INFO

For Nero 6 and Nero 5:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
AHEAD
NERO BURNING ROM
INFO

****************************************

Obviously one would save the current copy. Then there is the option to do a 'SYSTEM RESTORE' at a point where the PC was working to your requirement, being only 2/3 days ago.





Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hg-dude
post Nov 24 2012, 09:01 PM
Post #12


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 2,419
Joined: 2-July 08
Member No.: 7,905,902



retofploughman, ty for remembering of this informations of the complete listing of registry entries. Very helpful.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
luisduo
post Nov 25 2012, 02:29 AM
Post #13


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-November 12
Member No.: 10,306,902



Tried the ideas above but so far nothing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Nov 25 2012, 04:16 AM
Post #14


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



Please send an e-mail to tech support. Attach the nerosupport.cab file generated by running the "get support files" utility. Don't post the cab file here. You can get the utility here-

http://www.nero.com/enu/support.html?ecid=...quest:438%2C439

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hg-dude
post Nov 25 2012, 06:38 PM
Post #15


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 2,419
Joined: 2-July 08
Member No.: 7,905,902



I doubt whether the TS there can help. Also a restore (fall-back) of the OS may not help, because there also may be remnants from previeous installations hidden in the system. From my view only new installing of the OS with reformatting of the system partition wil solve the problem in this case.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wither
post Nov 26 2012, 03:30 AM
Post #16


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21,667
Joined: 30-August 08
Member No.: 8,132,427



That's an extreme measure that should be avoided unless necessary.

Let tech support give it a shot. Let us know what they have to say.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed Topic