Start new topic
> How to get videos from Sony HandyCam?
alpo9
post Oct 29 2012, 08:43 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 10,270,498

Greetings all!

I've been using Nero for a long time to burn disks and such. I currently have Nero 11, but this is my first time using Nero Video.

I got my mom's Sony HandyCam DCR-HC21 attached to a Windows 7 computer with Firewire and the DV port on the camera. Windows see it, Nero Video sees it and can control it. However, Nero Vision can't see the videos on it.

When I first start Nero Video and choose "Import from AVCHD" I get the error message, "No device was found." Yet, I can use the controls to play/fast forward/rewind the tape in the camera - I know this because the video plays on the camera's display.

Does anyone have a clue what is going on and how I can fix it? There are a ton of videos I'd like to get from tape to the computer.

TIA!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
wither
post Oct 30 2012, 03:48 AM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Member No.: 8,132,427

You should use the Capture feature of Nero Video to transfer the files to your hard drive if you can't do it with your Sony software. You can then import the files into Nero Video to do what you want with them. However, you need a capture device on your system to convert the video to digital format while capturing. Search on Capture in the Nero Video help file for details.

+Quote Post
BakerSmurfRX
post Oct 30 2012, 07:32 AM
Post #3

Advanced Member

Group: Nero Support Employee
Member No.: 9,102,709

Hi alpo9,

The problem may have different causes. Please write an email to techsupport@nero.com.
Alternatively, you can also get in touch via the chat line first.
http://www.nero.com/eng/support-contact.html

Best regards,
BakerSmurfRX

+Quote Post
alpo9
post Oct 30 2012, 02:29 PM
Post #4